IndianEngineer

India's No 1. www.IndianEngineer.tk

Automatic Railway Gate Control & Track Switching( LATEST)

Click HERE to Book This Project Now!

Present project is designed using 8051 microcontroller to avoid railway accidents happening at unattended railway gates, if implemented in spirit. This project utilizes two powerful IR transmitters and two receivers; one pair of transmitter and receiver is fixed at up side (from where the train comes) at a level higher than a human being in exact alignment and similarly the other pair is fixed at down side of the train direction. Sensor activation time is so adjusted by calculating the time taken at a certain speed to cross at least one compartment of standard minimum size of the Indian railway. We have considered 5 seconds for this project. Sensors are fixed at 1km on both sides of the gate. We call the sensor along the train direction as ‘foreside sensor’ and the other as ‘aft side sensor’. When foreside receiver gets activated, the gate motor is turned on in one direction and the gate is closed and stays closed until the train crosses the gate and reaches aft side sensors. When aft side receiver gets activated motor turns in opposite direction and gate opens and motor stops. Buzzer will immediately sound at the fore side receiver activation and gate will close after 5 seconds, so giving time to drivers to clear gate area in order to avoid trapping between the gates and stop sound after the train has crossed.


The same principle is applied for track switching. Considering a situation wherein an express train and a local train are traveling in opposite directions on the same track; the express train is allowed to travel on the same track and the local train has to switch on to the other track. Two sensors are placed at the either sides of the junction where the track switches. If there’s a train approaching from the other side, then another sensor placed along that direction gets activated and will send an interrupt to the controller. The interrupt service routine switches the track. Indicator lights have been provided to avoid collisions. Here the switching operation is performed using a stepper motor. Assuming that within a certain delay, the train has passed the track is switched back to its original position, allowing the first train to pass without any interruption. This concept of track switching can be applied at 1km distance from the stations.


The project is simple to implement and subject to further improvement.

Model of Automatic Railway Gate Control & Track Switching

Gate Control:

Railways being the cheapest mode of transportation are preferred over all the other means .When we go through the daily newspapers we come across many railway accidents occurring at unmanned railway crossings. This is mainly due to the carelessness in manual operations or lack of workers. We, in this project has come up with a solution for the same. Using simple electronic components we have tried to automate the control of railway gates. As a train approaches the railway crossing from either side, the sensors placed at a certain distance from the gate detects the approaching train and accordingly controls the operation of the gate. Also an indicator light has been provided to alert the motorists about the approaching train.

Gate control

Hardware Description

The project consists of four main parts:
8051 microcontroller
IR Transmitter
IR Receiver
Stepper Motor Circuit

8051 Microcontroller

The I/O ports of the 8051 are expanded by connecting it to an 8255 chip. The 8255 is programmed as a simple I/O port for connection with devices such as LEDs, stepper motors and sensors. More details of the 8255 are given later.
The following block diagram shows the various devices connected to the different ports of an 8255. The ports are each 8-bit and are named A, B and C. The individual ports of the 8255 can be programmed to be input or output, and can be changed dynamically. The control register is programmed in simple I/O mode with port A, port B and port C (upper) as output ports and port C (lower) as an input port.


Block diagram of 8051 Microcontroller

IR Circuits

This circuit has two stages: a transmitter unit and a receiver unit. The transmitter unit consists of an infrared LED and its associated circuitry.

IR Transitter

The transmitter circuit consists of the following components:
IC 555
Resistors
Capacitors
IR LED

The IR LED emitting infrared light is put on in the transmitting unit. To generate IR signal, 555 IC based astable multivibrator is used. Infrared LED is driven through transistor BC 548.

IC 555 is used to construct an astable multivibrator which has two quasi-stable states. It generates a square wave of frequency 38kHz and amplitude 5Volts. It is required to switch ‘ON’ the IR LED.

IR Transmitter

IR Receiver

The receiver circuit consists of the following components:
TSOP1738 (sensor)
IC 555
Resistors
Capacitors

The receiver unit consists of a sensor and its associated circuitry. In receiver section, the first part is a sensor, which detects IR pulses transmitted by IR-LED. Whenever a train crosses the sensor, the output of IR sensor momentarily transits through a low state. As a result the monostable is triggered and a short pulse is applied to the port pin of the 8051 microcontroller. On receiving a pulse from the sensor circuit, the controller activates the circuitry required for closing and opening of the gates and for track switching. The IR receiver circuit is shown in the figure below.

IR Receiver

Stepper motor circuit

Stepper motor circuit

Here a stepper motor is used for controlling the gates. A stepper motor is a widely used device that translates electrical pulses into mechanical movement. They function as their name suggests – they “step” a little bit at a time. Steppers don’t simply respond to a clock signal. They have several windings which need to be energized in the correct sequence before the motor’s shaft will rotate. Reversing the order of the sequence will cause the motor to rotate the other way.

Track Switching

Using the same principle as that for gate control, we have developed a concept of automatic track switching. Considering a situation wherein an express train and a local train are travelling in opposite directions on the same track; the express train is allowed to travel on the same track and the local train has to switch on to the other track. Indicator lights have been provided to avoid collisions .Here the switching operation is performed using a stepper motor. In practical purposes this can be achieved using electromagnets.

Track Switching

CALL US TO BOOK THIS PROJECT  OR CLICK HERE TO GET THIS PROJECT AND KITS

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | Automatic Railway Gate Control And Track Swithcing, project ideas, Uncategorized

111 Comments

  1. SIR,
    I am a final year student.I want to do this project.Will you send me the full papers of this project?Is it possible to control railway gate by vibration measuring sensor?Or addition of this to make more sensetive or to get more accurate result?please send me the project paper & answer.Please help me.

    Comment by sharmin liza | August 3, 2009

  2. hello sir,
    i am final year student. i would like to do this project as my final project. can u send the proposal to me?all item n data about this prokect can tell me more clearly?i hope u can help me.waiting your good reply..thank you..

    Comment by mr. chan | August 10, 2009

  3. hello sir,
    can u send me all the circuit about this project? tq.

    Comment by mr. chan | August 10, 2009

  4. Sir,
    Can i get the complete details of this project? i want to do this project for my final yr.
    Email id: levis.simon@gmail.com

    Comment by Simon | August 11, 2009

  5. hello sir
    good morning
    i m student of poly. finalyr sir plz give me more information about this topic bcoz i choose that topic for my final yr seminar topic plz help me sir i hope that you will help me i m waiting for ur reply.
    thanks.

    Comment by NEHA ANIL DUDHE | August 11, 2009

  6. can u send me all informatuon about this topic ?plz sir

    Comment by NEHA ANIL DUDHE | August 11, 2009

  7. Sir,
    Iam going do a project in a automatic railway gate control and track switching . so kindly send your full details about the project to my email address.
    Thanking you,

    Comment by ramesh | August 11, 2009

  8. hello sir,
    can u send me all the circuit about this project? tq.

    Comment by silky | August 11, 2009

  9. hello sir..i find your project very intersting and useful.i m final year student and would like to do tjis as my final year project..can u plz send me the full papers and data required.i shall be very thankful to you.plz help me.

    Comment by nidhi saini | August 12, 2009

  10. good morning sir
    hello
    i m poly final yr student i choose this topic for my seminar topic plz give me more information of that topic. i hope u will send me all information about that topic.thanks

    Comment by neha dudhe | August 12, 2009

  11. i tink its too complex to do and understad, can u mail me some of simple projects in whch risks are less.

    Comment by lion | August 12, 2009

  12. hello sir,
    i am final year student and i want to do this project so send me details about this project such as ckt.digrame,discription.
    i hope you send me whole information about this project

    Comment by vijay s balte | August 14, 2009

  13. dis is a really good concept, can i have detailed version. kindly also inform about net cost of booking & mode of payment

    Comment by gurpreet gill | August 14, 2009

  14. i need it for my final year btech project

    Comment by may u mail me the cricuit n code of the project | August 14, 2009

  15. Hello Friends

    To Get the Details of this Project Please Call us AT

    09717408885
    09868816785
    09718246286

    or Send us an Email to Book this Project.

    keep Watching
    Indianengineer.tk

    Thanks Team
    IndianEngineer.

    please Do not Comment to Book the project just mail us or call us for booking anytime from india or Abroad.

    Comment by Blog-Admin | August 14, 2009

  16. sir i m final year student and i want to make this project please send me full circuit diagram and details to me. and also send some other projects

    Comment by Anur Omer | August 16, 2009

  17. hello sir,i need the full details with the circuit diagram of this project,i want to do work on this for my final year project.thank you sir

    Comment by apurva | August 17, 2009

  18. sir,i am a final year student…i am very interseted in doing a project which would help reducing train accidents…could u please help me out with this..please sir..help me..please do reply to my id..thank you

    Comment by muinth | August 19, 2009

  19. i m final year student plz send me all the details of this project.

    Comment by jatin | August 20, 2009

  20. hi!! i m a final year student..i want full details of this project..
    my id is -prathamluv4u@yahoo.com

    Comment by pratham verma | August 21, 2009

  21. i m interested in this project can u send me circuit diagram
    it is really good

    Comment by Anil Choudhary | August 21, 2009

  22. SIR,
    I am a final year Electronic student.I want to do this project.Will you send me the full papers of this project?
    How to make more sensetive or to get more accurate result?please send me the project paper & answer.Please help me.

    Comment by Sunil Garg | August 22, 2009

  23. i want to do work on this for my final year project.
    can u send me all information about this topic ?plz sir

    Comment by sourav | August 22, 2009

  24. hello ,sir i want to need full details with the circuit block diagram if possible to pcb diagram to be provided ,i want to be work on this project and some implemented to this project as final year project .
    plz sir response to me quickly actullay i will sumitted the synopsis with in one week.
    thank you sir

    Comment by nikhilesh | August 24, 2009

  25. hello Sir…
    i just went through ur project AND got the idea that u have been used… i am final yr B-tech student (EEE) & want to prepare my project for the same.
    i had idea but i had not details .. i therefore request u to kindly help me by forwarding full details so that i can complete my project.

    thanking u .

    Comment by Ashish Pandey | August 25, 2009

  26. Sir,
    I am going do a project in a automatic railway gate control and track switching . so kindly send your full details about the project to my email address.
    Thanking you,

    Comment by hasnat | August 25, 2009

  27. hello sir…..i am a final year student and i am interested to this project as my major one…..so please can you send me all the detailed information of this…waiting for the reply…
    thanking you

    Comment by smriti | August 25, 2009

  28. sir, kindly provide me more details of this project including the total budget

    Comment by navita rana | August 26, 2009

  29. hello sir……… im the final yr student of a.e.c agra……..pls…..can u send me whole detail of it……..soon.i will b very thankful to u…….hence oblize……

    Comment by himanshu tayal | August 27, 2009

  30. i am final year student. i would like to do this project as my final project.
    can u send me all the circuit rand elated to this project and complete explation of there component like ir led,ir transmitter & ir receiver as required for this project.
    and also other things if i it possible we add some extra to this project .

    Comment by prabhakar | August 27, 2009

  31. i m a final year student and i want to this project so can u send me all the circuit rand elated to this project and complete explation of there component like ir led,ir transmitter & ir receiver as required for this project.
    and also other things if i it possible we add some extra to this project .

    Comment by prabhakar | August 27, 2009

  32. hello sir,
    I am a final year student and found yor project to be very interesting. I required all the information about about this project. so, i kindly request you to help . .

    Comment by Nimesh | August 27, 2009

  33. hello sir,i need the full details with the circuit diagram of this project,i want to do work on this for my final year project & also send some other projects

    Comment by divya | August 27, 2009

  34. hello sir,i need the full details with the circuit diagram of this project,i want to do work on this for my final year project.

    Comment by divya | August 27, 2009

  35. hellow sir,how r u? everything is here and this project is a good one for the students, can i get the full details with ckt. diagram?

    Comment by subhakanta swain | August 28, 2009

  36. hello sir, i m final year stdnt in electrical & electronics ….tell me the cost of Automatic Railway Gate Control & Track Switching( LATEST) project…

    Comment by amit | August 30, 2009

  37. please send me the complete details of the project.as i have to gone through this project as early as possible.my email id dineshkiloliya@gmail.conm

    Comment by Dinesh kiloliya | August 30, 2009

  38. Hello Sir,i am a final student from pune and i want to do this project
    as my final year project .Sir please send full information regarding the project.

    Comment by meezan shaikh | August 30, 2009

  39. i want the complete information of the working circuit of the project.

    Comment by Dinesh kiloliya | August 30, 2009

  40. sir,
    i am a final year student of diploma in electronics and communication.
    i want to do this project, so plz send me the full detail of it.

    Comment by musa kaleem | August 31, 2009

  41. hello sir..i find your project very intersting and useful.i m final year student and would like to do tjis as my final year project..can u plz send me the full papers and data required and complete explation of the components like ir led,ir transmitter & ir receiver required for this project.i shall be very thankful to you.plz help me.

    Comment by Rama Naidu | September 1, 2009

  42. its really intresting one.

    Comment by i m suman here. I want to make this project for my final year major project. so, plz send full description of it on my emil address as soon as possible. thanks a lot for this. | September 1, 2009

  43. sir i m a final year student i want to do this project please send me more details if possibel //////m looking frward to u thnkssss

    Comment by taha | September 1, 2009

  44. hey i too need this project…….can u plz give more details………..ma id……… lavishladdha@gmail.com

    Comment by lavish | September 3, 2009

  45. hello Sir…
    i just went through ur project AND got the idea that u have been used… i am final yr B-tech student (EEE) & want to prepare my project for the same.
    i had idea but i had not details .. i therefore request u to kindly help me by forwarding full details so that i can complete my project.please send all the related circuits & components with their specifications.

    thanking u .

    Comment by VIBHANSHU | September 3, 2009

  46. SIR,
    I am a final year student.I want to do this project as my final yr project.Will you send me the full papers of this project?please send me the project paper & ckt details.Please help me.
    email:soujanya_eppili@yahoo.com

    Comment by soujanya | September 3, 2009

  47. pls send me all detailsof the project

    Comment by Lalit Rathore | September 4, 2009

  48. sir please send me all details of this project.

    Comment by mithun kumar | September 4, 2009

  49. hallo sir
    i want to do this project as my final year project, so could u pls provide me all the cicuit diagram related to this project. Pls sir i need them urgently………..

    Comment by apurva | September 4, 2009

  50. hello sir,good morning,i am (B.E.E.C)FINAL YEAR student I NEED component list, required in AUTOMATIC RAILWAY GATE CONTROL SYSTEM.SO PLEASE SIR AS SOON AS POSSIBLE SEND ME LIST.OK SIR,I HOP YOU SEND ME THE LIST OR OTHER INFORMATION RELATED TO THIS PROJECT AS QUICKLEY
    THANS.

    Comment by raydhan | September 6, 2009

  51. hello sir..i find your project very intersting and useful.i m final year student and would like to do tjis as my final year project..can u plz send me the full papers and data required.i shall be very thankful to you.plz help me

    Comment by mayank gupta | September 9, 2009

  52. i am final year student. i would like to do this project as my final project.
    can u send me all the circuit rand elated to this project and complete explation of there component like ir led,ir transmitter & ir receiver as required for this project.
    and also other things if i it possible we add some extra to this project .

    please send it with total cost it would take to make it.

    Comment by akash | September 10, 2009

  53. i am a final year student and i want this project with full details so please send this project details

    Comment by K.THANGARAJ | September 12, 2009

  54. plz send me the details of this project

    Comment by rakesh | September 12, 2009

  55. hello sir
    i am a student of b.tech final year with electronics & communication.in our university syllabus that we have to make running project in our final sem.
    so i want that you send me all the related document and all things related to this.
    thank you.

    Comment by viveka nand sharma | September 13, 2009

  56. can u send the idea of this project & also the circuit diagram…..

    Comment by brajesh yadav | September 13, 2009

  57. can u send the idea of this project…..and also the circuit diagram….

    Comment by brajesh yadav | September 13, 2009

  58. Hello SIR,
    I am the student of final year electronics & communication eng. polly.
    i want to do this project. So please send me full details of this project.

    Comment by ATUL THOMBRE | September 16, 2009

  59. hello sir, i would like to present paper on this topic. so, please send me the complete information about this topic

    Comment by A.Mohammed Rafiq | September 17, 2009

  60. sir am interested in doing this project . Could u please send full details of this project to me.

    Comment by Shashi Kumar.B.L | September 17, 2009

  61. Hi im final Extc student i want project on security based wich include home as well as home security against theft

    Comment by shreekrishna | September 22, 2009

  62. sir i want full detail of this project

    Comment by jalpa | September 25, 2009

  63. hi sir!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i am interested in doing this project. could u please send me the details of this project including its circuit diagram and synopsis on my mail id.

    thank u in advance.
    hope u do the needful.
    please send it at the earliest.
    ajinkya

    Comment by ajinkya | September 28, 2009

  64. hi sir!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i wanted to do a microcontroller based project. could u please send me the details of this project including its circuit diagram and synopsis on my mail id.

    thank u in advance.
    hope u do the needful.
    please send it at the earliest.
    ajinkya

    Comment by ajinkya | September 28, 2009

  65. hello,,sir,,,
    please send me all the circuit regarding this project,,,,,,,,,and the components required for this project,sir

    Comment by arun | October 2, 2009

  66. hi..im required security based project.
    which may be for Home or Bank
    includes different sensors

    Comment by sunil | October 7, 2009

  67. SIR,
    I am a final year Electronic student.I want to do this project.Will you send me the full papers of this project?
    How to make more sensetive or to get more accurate result?please send me the project paper & answer.Please help me.
    kindly also inform about net cost of booking & mode of payment

    Comment by piyush gupta | October 22, 2009

  68. hi….i m final year student….sir plz send me circuit n document ….n tell the cost of it…..plz send informmation on my id justsunny10@gmail.com

    Comment by sunny kumar | October 26, 2009

  69. hi sir…………….i am interested in doing this project. could u please send me the details of this project including its circuit diagram and synopsis on my mail id.

    Comment by chethan | October 30, 2009

  70. i am interested in doing this project. could u please send me the details of this project including its circuit diagram and synopsis on my mail id.

    thank u in advance.
    hope u do the needful.
    please send it at the earliest.

    Comment by raj kumar patel | November 11, 2009

  71. hi….i m final year student….sir plz send me circuit n document ….n tell the cost of it…..plz send informmation on my id

    Comment by raj kumar patel | November 11, 2009

  72. hello sir,
    i am final year student. i would like to do this project as my final project. can u send the proposal to me? all item and data about this project, i hope u can help me.waiting your good reply..thank you..

    Comment by isaac | November 12, 2009

  73. Sir, iwant to do this project i want the full technical discription, its advantages, its disadvantages, its future aspects and the list of component used…..PLZcould u mail me as soon as possible…….

    Comment by sanjeev | November 17, 2009

  74. plz send me full ckt diagram with coonection each element& also send me report

    Comment by imraran hussain | November 19, 2009

  75. Sir
    i m student of final year B Tec. i m doing this project as major project. i want to ask some logics about this project.
    plz tell me your contect no with address.

    Comment by Mukesh meena | December 4, 2009

  76. sir please i want this project urgently.i want to work on this.please there is no time for me please sir.

    Comment by chaitanya | December 7, 2009

  77. hi sir am interested in doing this project i please kindly request you to send all the details regarding this project to my mail id

    Comment by ramya | December 8, 2009

  78. hi sir

    i want the full details about tis project,, plz send tis project,, thank u

    Comment by selvakumar | December 16, 2009

  79. this is mokka project

    Comment by balu | December 24, 2009

  80. hi sir,
    i am doing the same project.
    In IR transmitter circuit, the IR LED is not glowing.
    But the circuit will work, for checking I replace IR LED by simple LED it will glow. So please tell me what is the problem in this and solution for this.

    Comment by sourabh | December 29, 2009

  81. hello sir can you give me information regarding this project pls

    Comment by allaharik | January 5, 2010

  82. hey please call us at our contacts to get any information

    Comment by IndianEngineer | January 5, 2010

  83. sir i want to make this project. please send me full details of this project.

    Comment by sunil | January 6, 2010

  84. i am final year electrical engineering student.I want the complete detail regarding this project along with circuit diagram and other details.

    Comment by POONAM SINGH | February 5, 2010

  85. sir please send me the full detail of this project

    Comment by abhinav | February 17, 2010

  86. i wnt more detalis abt projek

    Comment by anand | February 20, 2010

  87. i want complete detail of this project. so plz send me as soon as possible.

    Comment by tariq | March 20, 2010

  88. sir,i’m doing this project n have started work.. but not clear with track switching concept…. it would be helpful if u send us full detail of it

    Comment by govind | March 30, 2010

  89. […] AUTOMATIC RAIRWAY CROSSING GATE CONTROLLER AND TRACK SWITCHING Automatic Railway Gate Control & Track Switching( LATEST) […]

    Pingback by Microcontroller Projects for Final Year - Final Year Projects " India's No ! - indianengineer.in | April 11, 2010

  90. Sir
    i m a final year student.please send the working & ckt of IR receiver.

    Comment by Rohit kumar91 | April 13, 2010

  91. hello sir,
    can u send me all the circuit about this project?

    Comment by hemant gupta | November 19, 2010

  92. I’m interested in this project plz send me
    “project proposal” & ‘this power full project.Thank u!!!!

    Comment by Mengistu | March 6, 2011

  93. hello sir,i am a pre-final year student,thnkg about the projects for final year but am no gettg idea about the topics to be chose..so please mail me any better topics on computer networking or on vlsi.. thank u..

    Comment by Mansi | April 16, 2011

  94. sir i want to do this project for the competition of texas instruments ..
    so plz sir send the circuit diagrams n related details about this project on my email id…
    sir i need it imediately so hope to get ur response quickly….

    Comment by kapil mehta | April 28, 2011

  95. good

    Comment by bhargav | May 9, 2011

  96. exceellnet

    Comment by bhargav | May 9, 2011

  97. very interesting

    Comment by bhargav | May 9, 2011

  98. keka

    Comment by bhargav | May 9, 2011

  99. Hello sir… I am doin the above project.. but instead of usin ir sensor i have used piezo vibration sensor.. First i planned to do simulation process.. i donno how to proceed.. Can u pls help me? Pls send the transfer fn,etc… needed for simulation..

    Comment by Abi | June 2, 2011

  100. hello sir,
    i am final year student. i would like to do this project as my final project. can u send the proposal to me?all item n data about this prokect can tell me more clearly?i hope u can help me.waiting your good reply..thank you..

    Comment by MUKUND SINGH | August 27, 2011

  101. please send the detail of automatic railway gate control it must necessary for my major project.
    thanks……………

    Comment by dilip kumar yyadav | August 27, 2011

  102. i am a final year study i am interestd in this project plz send me the detail regarding the project, with the aim ,description, and the circuit required to this project, and also the cost , to my email id

    Comment by mohammed nadeem | September 13, 2011

  103. i am final yr. student .howmany distance is required for the ir sensor.
    plz send me this circuit diagram
    bhawani singh

    Comment by bhawanisingh | September 14, 2011

  104. hi….i m final year student….sir plz send me circuit n document ….n tell the cost of it…..plz send informmation on my id deepkandpal87@gmail.com

    Comment by deep chandra kandpal | September 15, 2011

  105. Hello Sir,
    I am final year diploma student. i would like to do this project. So can U send me circuit diagram &
    required components for this project. i am waiting your reply…Thank you

    Comment by Sneha | September 17, 2011

  106. Hallo sir i like your project , sir ples give me more information of this project with circuit diagram plese help me sir

    Comment by Sunil | September 18, 2011

  107. pls send me the detail of this project.which is very important to me.i would be thanksfull if u send me this project.

    Comment by sharifuzzaman | September 20, 2011

  108. sir,i am final year ece student. i like this project.can u pls send me the full circuit of this to my mail.

    Comment by Nitheesh | September 22, 2011

  109. I am doing ece 3rd year, can u pls send me full details of this project please…..

    Comment by Mathivanan | September 24, 2011

  110. sir;i am final year student of B.E.&i want to make a project on this topic so plz send detail of about this as soon as possible.

    Comment by alpana yadav | September 24, 2011

  111. please sir send me all the details and circuits diagram of this project for my final year project. i will made my self.
    thanks.
    email ID: “junaid_baig77@yahoo.com”

    Comment by junaid | September 26, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers

